Spain and France  +7 (921) 957 14 09   +34 66 58 74 128

Guide in the Basque Country


VK facebook instagram



Basque Country, or Euskadi (Pais Vasco, Euskadi) - is undoubtedly one of the most enigmatic and original historical regions throughout Western Europe. Basque Country occupies the north of Spain and south-eastern part of France; it inhabits the most ancient European people, who managed to preserve their rich culture, traditions and identity, as well as the original language. Basque Country is one of the 17th autonomous regions in Spain. The status of autonomy was obtained in 1979.


Basque Country in Spain is made up of three provinces: Alava - the capital is Vitoria-Gasteiz, Vizkaya- the capital is Bilbao and the province Guipuzcoa - the capital is San Sebastian. Also, there is a vast province of Navarra, inhabited by Basques, but officially it is not a part of the Basque Country. The provinces Lapurdi, Lower Navarre and Zuberoa form the French Basque Country. Official administrative capital of the Basque Country in Spain - Vitoria-Gasteiz (Spanish - Vitoria, Basque - Gasteiz) (Euskal-Herria) – as the Basques call these lands, literally means "Land, where they speak the Basque language" French Basque Country called Northern Euskadi - Iparalde (Iparraldea), and Spanish Basque Country- Southern Euskadi - Egoalde (Hegoaldea).